Thursday, July 18, 2013

Whatever After Series

A brand-new series for middle-grade readers.
Every time Abby and Jonah enter their basement mirror, they find themselves messing up a different fairy tale!

I read the first in the series, Fairest of All
Mirror, mirror, on the basement wall . . .Once upon a time my brother and I were normal kids. The next minute? The mirror in our basement slurped us up and magically transported us inside Snow White's fairy tale.
I know it sounds crazy, but it's true.
But hey -- we're heroes! We stopped Snow White from eating the poisoned apple. Hooray! Or not. If Snow White doesn't die, she won't get to meet her prince. And then she won't get her happy ending. Oops.
Now it's up to us to:
- Avoid getting poisoned
- Sneak into a castle
- Fix Snow White's story
And then, fingers crossed, find our way home.
This is a cute series told from the point of view of the quirky, likable and lively Abby.  The humour is genuine and relatable for young girls. Perfect for grades 2 & 3, it is a great precursor to Meg Cabot books.  The familiarity of fairy tales makes this series very approachable for reluctant readers.  It explores how changing one part of a story can affect the outcome.  A large part of the appeal is the empowerment Abby gains as she realizes her actions affect the storybook world and that her ability to empathize with the characters and devise plans make her an important and valuable part of the new story.

No comments:

Post a Comment